Appointments (Investigating and Disciplinary) Sub-Committee

Meeting of held on Friday, 30 April 2021 at 10.00 am

This meeting was held in Bernard Weatherill House with some non-Members of the Sub-Committee attending some parts of the meeting remotely.

MINUTES

Present: Councillor Muhammad Ali, Lynne Hale and Joy Prince

Also Present: Asmat Hussain, Interim Executive Director of Resources and Deputy

Monitoring Officer

Sally Robertson QC, Counsel to the Sub-Committee

Kira Maybin, Executive Support Officer

Stephen Rowan, Head of Democratic Services & Scrutiny

PART A

1 Election of Chair

It was moved by Councillor M Ali and seconded by Councillor Hale and

RESOLVED:

That Councillor Prince be elected Chair of the Sub-Committee.

2 Appointment of Vice-Chair

It was moved by the Chair and seconded by Councillor M Ali and

RESOLVED:

That Councillor Hale be appointed Vice-Chair of the Sub-Committee.

3 Apologies for Absence

There were no apologies for absence.

4 Disclosure of Interest

There were no disclosures of interest.

5 Urgent Business (if any)

There were no items of urgent business.

6 Investigation and Disciplinary Procedure

The Sub-Committee considered the report of the Interim Chief Executive and noted that the primary purpose of the meeting was to decide whether a disciplinary investigation should be commissioned in relation to allegations which have been made against employee/s of the Council, consideration of which would take place in the Part B section of the meeting.

7 Exclusion of the Press and Public

The following motion was moved by Councillor Hale and Seconded by Councillor M Ali and

RESOLVED:

That, under Section 100A(4) of the Local Government Act, 1972, the press and public be excluded from the meeting for the following items of business on the grounds that it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information falling within paragraphs 1 and 2 of Part 1 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972, as amended.

8 Investigation and Disciplinary Procedure

Please note a Part B minute has been created for this item.

The meeting ended at 2.30 pm on 21 May 2021